Ostomy Safety Outside

There are many things in life that give me joy.  One of the most refreshing parts of living is being outside and enjoying the great outdoors.  This is something that I was worried about not being able to do when I found out my colon needed to be removed.  The fear of not having a normal life was something I struggled with for many days, months, and in some ways years.  But I have fought hard to not change my life, even though of course some daily routines have changed.  What I learned was that with the proper ostomy gear I was able to have the confidence to live and the ability to live a normal life.  So there are some things that are important when thinking about being in the great outdoors.  The weather, altitude and simply the ability to carry your own ostomy gear is important.

 

So what do you need to think about first when going outside?  Personally, I think being in shape is one of the most important things.  This can not only be in great jogging or strength training but knowing what your body is capable of and being able to get over any issues if they happen.  I personally am more worried about my ankles then my stoma when I am outside.  I have terrible ankles that have been sprained many times over.  I have lost years of true mobility from my life and I think that keeping those parts of my body safe and secure is just as important as having the right ostomy gear on me in case something gets broken or lost on the outdoor adventure.  

 

The next thing I think about is carrying the extra gear that I need or may need.  I am usually fine with the ostomy bag I have on me, but what if something happens and I fall down a hill while hiking?  I know that I will need to have extra gear on me and sanitary supplies in order to change it out if something goes wrong.  I also keep ankle braces and wrap in my backpack as well.  For most hikes, I feel that a 20L or more backpack size is good to carry my extra gear, water food, and enough room for an extra layer depending on the weather. If it is really cold out then it is important to probably have a 30L bag and more layers prepared for bad weather. 

 

This is also a time to talk to manufactures of ostomy gear about the weather, altitude, and what gear is needed in what conditions.  We all live in different places and each place and condition may change a whole lot about the gear you use and bring with you.  Staying safe is first and foremost very important.  If you are traveling to a new location talk to your doctor or manufacture about what is needed in that new location.

 

 

I think having a plan is also a big part of being safe in the outdoors.  It is important to let people know where you are going and plans on when you plan to be at one location or another.  It is important to me to have others aware of what I am doing just in case I am no longer able to get out on my own.  I have injured my ankle before and luckily I was able to walk to a nearby road and get help. But if I had fallen and broken my phone I would have been in serious trouble. So stay safe and have fun!